The Refugee Convention

E-mail Print PDF

The 1951 Convention relating to the Status of Refugees is the key legal document in defining who is a refugee, their rights and the legal obligations of States. The 1967 Protocol removed geographical and temporal restrictions established by the Convention. 

More information on the Convention is available in the 1951 Convention Q&A.

In 2011, UNHCR will be marking the 60th anniversary of the 1951 Convention, which has been instrumental in helping an estimated 50 million people restart their lives.

There are currently 145 Contracting States to the 1951 Convention and 146 Contracting States to the 1967 Protocol.

Contracting States in the region covered by UNHCR's Canberra Office:

State 1951 Convention  1967 Protocol 
Australia 22 January 1954 (a) 13 December 1973 (a)
New Zealand 30 January 1960 (a) 6 August 1973 (a)
Fiji 12 June 1972 (d) 12 June 1972 (d)
Tuvalu 7 March 1986 (d) 7 March 1986 (d)
Papua New Guinea 17 July 1986 (a) 17 July 1986 (a)
Samoa 21 September 1988 (a) 29 November 1994 (a)
Solomon Islands 28 February 1995 (a) 12 April 1995 (a)
Nauru 28 June 2011 (a) 28 June 2011 (a)

 Accession (a), Succession (d).



facebook_32 twitter_32


Regional Updates

Syria: Aid Reaches Eastern Aleppo
Syria: An agreement with the Syrian Government and the opposition allows UNHCR and the Syrian Arab Red.....
Refugee Convention anniversary with an Australian link
CANBERRA, 14 April (UNHCR), As conflicts in Syria, Central African Republic and South Sudan continue.....
Team Deploying To Solomon Islands Floods Effort
United Nations, SUVA, 7 April 2014: The Pacific Humanitarian Team has begun deployments to Honiara.....
Lebanon: One Million Syrian Refugees
A devastating marker of one million refugees registered in Lebanon alone has been reached. That's.....

UNHCR Regional Office Canberra

The United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) is an impartial, non-political humanitarian organisation mandated by the United Nations to protect refugees and seek ways to help them restart their lives. UNHCR's Regional Office in Canberra covers Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and the Pacific, and is focussed on three key areas: legal protection, resettlement and public information.